© 2019 Groupe Dentaire Mon Paro

Frequently asked questions

---

CAN GUM DISEASE BE CURED? 

Only gingivitis is reversible. Any form of periodontal disease with a bacterial origin is only CONTROLABLE and MAINTAINABLE. We do not yet have solutions to "cure" this disease or regenerate with great success the destroyed bone and gum. On the other hand, with good care, good treatment, good monitoring and good hygiene recommendations, this disease can very often be stabilized and slowed down to save the teeth

WHAT IS A PERIODONTIST?

A periodontist is a Dental Surgeon that decided to specialise and acquire additional knowledge in one particular field of dentistry. He is specialized in the prevention of gum/bone diseases and its treatments (surgical or less invasive approaches). His extensive training in dental surgery and implantology enables him to replace lost teeth by dental implants upon the request of your dentist or prosthodontist.

WHY AND WHEN CONSULT A PERIODONTIST?

A periodontist is available to every individual that suffers from gum inflammation, tooth mobility, bad breath or needs to place dental implants… He is also available for those that want to maintain healthy teeth, gums and bone.

IS THERE AN AGE TO CONSULT AT “MONPARO”?

No. Gum disease affects the majority of the North American population (bleeding gums, gingivitis, periodontitis, bone loss, receding gums and tooth mobility that can lead to teeth loss).
In addition to that a periodontist’s evaluation is a must in order to achieve optimal results.

IS THERE PAIN ASSOCIATED WITH PERIODONTAL TREATMENTS?

Relying on the 5 year feedback of our periodontal practice, we can confirm that, no matter what type of treatment that is done (dental implants, gum grafts, bone grafts…), the majority of our patients (over 95%) will only need painkillers like Acetaminophen (Tylenol) or Ibuprophen (Advil or Motrin).
Pain seems to be much less present when lasers are used.

HOW DO WE FEEL AFTER GUM TREATMENTS?

The majority of our patients (over 90%) are able to go back to work the same day but, for discomfort reasons, we recommend them to wait for the following day. Sometimes restriction of intense physical activities (sports) for a few days is needed.

SPECIALIST FEES

Most treatment offered at our office are partially covered by private insurances. Otherwise, our office offers financial agreements. We believe that specialized dental treatments should be accessible to the majority of our population.

© 2019 Groupe Dentaire Mon Paro

Questions - Réponses

---

EST-CE QU'UNE MALADIE DE GENCIVE PEUT ETRE GUÉRIE?

Seule une gingivite est réversible. Toute forme de maladie parodontale d'origine bactérienne plus importante est seulement CONTROLABLE et MAINTENABLE. Nous n'avons pas encore de solutions pour "guérir" cette maladie ni régénérer avec grand succès l'os et la gencive détruits. Par contre avec les bons soins, les bons traitements, le bon suivi et les bonnes recommendations en hygiène, cette maladie peut être très souvent stabilisée et freinée de manière à sauver les dents présentes et les maintenir en bouche.

QU’EST-CE UN PARODONTISTE?

Un Parodontiste est un Chirurgien Dentiste qui s’est spécialisé dans une discipline précise de l’art dentaire. Il s’occupe de la prévention des maladies de gencives, de leur traitement (par chirurgies ou autres approches moins invasives). Sa formation très poussée en chirurgie dentaire et en implantologie lui permet de s’occuper également du remplacement des dents absentes avec la pose d’implants dentaires à la demande de votre dentiste ou prosthodontiste.

POURQUOI ET QUAND CONSULTER UN PARODONTISTE?

Un patient consulte un parodontiste lorsqu’il souffre d’une inflammation de ses gencives, de dents qui bougent, de mauvaise haleine ou d’une nécessité de placer des implants dentaires. Le parodontiste peut également contribuer au maintien optimal de la santé dentaire et gingivale de son patient.

À QUEL ÂGE DOIT-ON CONSULTER UN PARODONTISTE ?

À tout âge. Les atteintes de gencives (saignement de gencive, gingivite, parodontite, perte osseuse, déchaussements dentaires et mobilité dentaire pouvant mener à une perte de dents) affectent la majorité de la population.

LES TRAITEMENTS PARODONTAUX SONT-ILS DOULOUREUX ?

Après 5 ans de pratique parodontale, je peux affirmer quela grande majorité de nos patients (plus de 95%) n’ont pas à utiliser de médicaments anti-douleurs autres que de l’acétaminophène (Tylénol) ou de l’ibuprofen (Advil ou Motrin), suite aux traitements, quels qu’ils soient (implants dentaires, greffes de gencives, greffe d’os).
L’utilisation de rayon laser dans certaines chirurgies semble réduire davantage toute douleur potentielle suite aux traitements.

COMMENT SE SENT-ON APRÈS DES TRAITEMENTS DE GENCIVE ?

La plupart de nos patients (plus de 90%), peuvent retourner au travail la journée même du traitement. Parfois, nous leur conseillons d’attendre le lendemain, pour des raisons de confort. Dans certains cas, il est nécessaire de reduire l’activité physique intense (sports) pour quelques jours.

LES FRAIS DE SPÉCIALISTE

Généralement les frais de spécialiste sont également remboursés en partie par vos assurances privées. Notre clinique offre un service de financement avec Accord D (Banque Desjardins) car nous croyons fermement que les traitements de spécialistes devraient être accessibles à tous.